Facts About Costa Rica


  • Latitude & longitude: 10° 0´ 0´ N / 84° 0´ 0´ W
  • Land Boundaries: 397 miles (639 km)
    • Nicaragua: 192 miles (309 km)
    • Panama: 205 miles (330 km)
  • Coastline: 801.57 miles (1,290 km)
    • Caribbean Sea: 171.73 miles (212 km)
    • Pacific Ocean: 631.31 miles (1,016 km)
  • Total Area: 19,729.74 sq. miles (51,100 sq km)
    • Land: 19,559.86 sq. miles (50,660 sq km)
    • Water (includes Cocos Island): 169.88 sq. miles (440 sq km)
  • Highest Elevation: Mount Chirripo - 12,533 ft. (3,820 m)
  • Political Map: Costa Rica is comprised of 7 provinces - Alajuela, Cartago, Guanacaste, Heredia, Limon, Puntarenas and San Jose. The map below does not show Cocos Island, which is located some 330 miles (535 km) off the pacific coast.



Domestic Airlines & Charters

International Airlines

Domestic Bus Service

Costa Rica's efficient and elaborate public bus system provides the most inexpensive and popular method of travel throughout the country. The vast road system makes virtually every region of Costa Rica accessible by bus. In addition, there are several private bus companies that offer shuttle service throughout the country, see below.

Bus Service - International

  • Expreso Panamá - Costa Rica & Panamá
  • Tica Bus - Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua & Panamá.
  • Tracopa - Costa Rica & David, Panamá
  • TransNica - Costa Rica, Honduras & Nicaragua

Car Rental Companies

Ferry Services

Helicopter Rental & Tours

Motorcycle Rental & Tours

Newspapers & Online Media



Museums & Exhibits


World of Snakes - Grecia


Parque Reptilandia


Joyas del Tropico Museum
  • Located in Santo Domingo de Heredia, 100 meters east of the cemetery, this natural history museum exhibits insects from tropical rainforests throughout the world. Open Tuesday - Sunday and requires a $5.00 fee for tourists/foreigners.

San José

  • Children's Museum
  • Located in downtown San José, this museum is unlike any other in Central America. At one time an old military prison, this complex was converted into an interactive and educational experience for its children. Costa Rica was sending the message that the future of this tiny country was not going to be that of bloodshed and strife. Instead, its future would be the education and care of its children.
  • Gold Museum
  • The Gold museum, in downtown San José, is easily the country's best with thousands of different examples of Pre-Colombian gold artifacts. The pieces in the collection date from 500 BE to 1600 AD, when the new world was discovered by Christopher Columbus an the artifacts range from simple round earrings to intricately worked representations of local animals. Tastefully exhibited with great lighting and clear concise descriptions, the museum opens a window into the past and into lives of those indigenous groups that lived in Costa Rica.
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art
  • Located on the eastern end of Sabana Park, this museum exhibits a permanent collection of Costa Rica's most highly recognized artistic achievements. Open Tuesday - Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., there is a 400 colones fee, students enter for 200 colones.
  • National Museum
  • former fortress from the revolution of 1948, this renovated yellow building contains exhibits on pre-Columbian art, religious art, and the history of Costa Rica. In addition, the garden courtyard offers visitors a pleasant view of the city of San José. Located on Calle 17, between Avenidas Central and 2, this museum is open from Tuesday - Saturday from 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Sunday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. There is a 200 colones entrance fee, children under 10 years of age receive free admission.
  • Serpentarium
  • Located in downtown San José, just across from the casino called Colonial (Avenida 1 between Calles 9 & 11). This exhibit contains an exotic collection of tropical reptiles and amphibians, including venomous snakes from Costa Rica, deadly Cobras from Asia and Africa, Giant Pythons, as well as the extraordinary colors of tropical lizards and poison dart frogs. Open everyday from 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (Monday - Friday) and 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (Saturday - Sunday). The entrance fee is 500 colones for locals and 1000 colones for foreigners.

Language Schoools

Alajuela Province

Cartago Province

Guanacaste Province

Heredia Province

Puntarenas Province

San José Province

Marinas & Yacht Clubs

Guanacaste Province

Puntarenas Province